Photo credit: Alex Brandon, The Associated Press
Photo credit: Alex Brandon, The Associated Press

Washington, D.C. Each year, shortly before Thanksgiving, the President of the United States is presented with a live domestic turkey to be “pardoned”  and spared from being slaughtered.  This bizarre White House practice began in 1989 during the first Thanksgiving of then President George H. W. Bush.  Since then, Bush and his successors spared the lives of one or two lucky turkeys each Thanksgiving.  Last year, President Barack Obama pardoned Cobbler and Gobbler, both 40-pound turkeys from Rockingham County, Virginia.

This revered tradition is about to change as The White House announced that President Obama is scrapping this year’s Presidential Turkey Pardon due to reports about a shortage of Butterball turkeys.  Butterball is the nation’s largest turkey producer. Headquartered in Garner, N.C., Butterball produces 1 billion pounds of turkey every year, equal to 20 percent of the nation’s production. The ubiquitous brand, known for its blue, gold and yellow label, is a mainstay in American kitchens every Thanksgiving.

Butterball said its poultry had trouble gaining weight on some of its farms but did not explain why. The company still has ample supplies of its frozen large varieties, which are birds 16 pounds and heavier. “We experienced a decline in weight gains on some of our farms causing a limited availability of large, fresh turkeys,” Stephanie Llorente, a spokeswoman for Butterball, said in a statement Friday. “While we are continuing to evaluate all potential causes, we are working to remedy the issue. We sincerely regret the inconvenience that some of our customers have experienced as a result of this issue.” IMG2501-e1352796768675-793x1024

In making the surprise announcement, President Obama said he hopes his gesture which he says will surely be frowned upon by the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA), will help, even in the smallest way, to alleviate the turkey shortage.  Obama refused to answer a question from The Adobo Chronicles  on whether the Presidential Turkey Pardon will be scrapped for good, or only when there is a turkey shortage.



hugsWe interrupt The ADOBO CHRONICLES to bring you this heartwarming video of ordinary guys in the streets of San Francisco doing what little they can to help raise funds for typhoon relief in the Philippines.


2015 Miss Earth Angela Ong and Miss Globe
2015 Miss Earth Angela Ong, left, and Miss Globe Ann Lorraine Colis — both from the Philippines

UPDATED – The ban on Filipina candidates to International beauty competitions has been extended for another two years, following the recent crowning of two Filipinas as ‘Miss Globe’ (Ann Lorraine Colis)  and ‘Miss Earth’ (Angela Ong).

The following story was from 2013:

Bangkok, Thailand – After today’s fourth-place finish of Annalie Forbes, the Philippines’ representative to the Miss Grand International Beauty Pageant in Bangkok, Thailand, the  Association of Beauty Pageant Franchise Holders (ABPFH) has banned the Philippines from future international beauty competitions, citing “enormous advantage” by Filipina candidates in practically all pageants this year.

The  disqualification will be in effect for two years.

The Philippines holds the distinction of having won the title in all major beauty competitions like Miss Universe, Miss World and Miss International.  Additionally, every new international beauty competition has seen a Filipina winning the title or placing in the top 5.  Earlier this year, Mutya Datul won the 2013 Miss Supranational Pageant.

Forbes is the fourth Filipino to make it to the top 5 in competitions this year. Megan Young, of course, bagged the 2013 Miss World title this year, the first-ever for the Philippines.  Before Young, Evangeline Pascual reached the finals and was first runner-up in 1973 while Ruffa Gutierrez was second runner-up in 1993.

Ariella Arida, the country’s bet in the 2013 Miss Universe Pageant in Moscow, Russia, placed fourth.

Other Filipina beauties who have won international titles include Gloria Diaz and Margie Moran (Miss Universe) and Gemma Cruz, Mimilanie Marquez, Aurora Pijuan, and Precious Lara Quigaman (Miss International). Karla Henry won the Miss Earth title in 2008.

In 2010, 2011 and 2012, the Philippines’  Venus Raj, Shamcey Supsup and Janine Tugonon were all in the top 5 in the Miss Universe competition.

ABPFH said that it is time for the Philippines to give other countries the chance to win international beauty competitions, adding that “the world already knows how beautiful and talented Filipinas are.”

%d bloggers like this: