Senate Minority Bloc Forms New Coalition

IMG_1850.PNGMANILA, Philippines (The Adobo Chronicles, Manila Bureau) – “We will fight till the last one of us remains standing!”

With these words, a group of five senators belonging to the Minority Bloc announced the formation of a new coalition aimed at opposing every proposal and every move of their pro-Duterte colleagues.

Senate Minority Leader Franklin Drilon and his fellow minority bloc members Senators Antonio Trillanes IV, Kiko Pangilinan, Risa Hontiveros, Bam Aquino formed the new group which they are calling the Voltes V.

“We chose the name because it represents the superpower of a small but determined group of individuals committed to fight injustice, bullying and other political as well as social ills,” Senator Hontiveros said.

The group hopes to recruit mostly young people — especially the students of U.P. — to help them in their opposition to Duterte and his allies in Congress.

The group said that it still needs to contact incarcerated Senator Leila de Lima to determine whether she wants to join the new coalition.

“If she does, we’ll rename the group to Voltes V+1,” Hontiveros said.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.