Why Catriona Gray’s Miss Universe Title May Be The Last For The Philippines

57A01D0A-80DD-4F98-98F9-921D50BD4AB7BANGKOK, Thailand (The Adobo Chronicles, Bangkok Bureau) – Many who watched yesterday’s 2018 Miss Universe Pageant couldn’t help notice a major change in the way the top 20 finalists were chosen.

The contestants were grouped into three regions of the world: Asia Pacific/Africa, Europe and the Americas.  Five candidates from each of the regions were chosen as semi-finalists, with another five ‘wildcards’ who were chosen at random from all three regions.

Beginning next year, the Miss Universe Organization is expected to implement yet another major change which could mean that Catrio Gray’s crown may be the last for the Philippines.

The new rule stipulates that no country will win the crown more than four times.  Gray’s crown is the Philippines’ fourth (other Filipina crown holders were Gloria Diaz, Margarita Moran and Pia Wurtzbach).

As such, all countries which have already won the crown four times or more (other countries like the U.S.A. and Venezuela have won the crown more than four times), will no longer be eligible to win the title.  These countries may still send their respective candidates as “ambassadors of goodwill.”

The Miss Universe Organization told The Adobo Chronicles that the rationale behind this new rule is to give other countries a better shot at winning the title.

Talk about spreading the wealth, we mean the crown.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.